The Winners Of The “International Engine Of The Year” Contest Have Been Defined

The best engines in the world are chosen at the prestigious “International Engine of the Year” contest. No surprises happened. As always, Ferrari and Porsche motors won. Audi 2.5 TFSI five-cylinder engine has got the next trophy.

The team victory at this year International Engine of the Year competition is actually won by Ferrari. Two motors of the company won the Grand Prix in two nominations each.

So, a 3.9-liter turbocharged Ferrari V8 is recognized as the best in the “3.0-to-4.0-liter engines” and “High-performance engine” categories.

3.9-liter Ferrari V8

A 6.5-liter V12 engine proved Ferrari’s leadership in the “Engines of more than 4.0 liters” nomination and was also recognized as the best “New Engine”.

Porsche won in two categories. Its turbocharged V4 won in the “Engines from 1.8 to 2.0 liters”, nomination, and a 3.0-liter turbo V6 outperformed all in the “Engines from 2.5 to 3.0 liters” .

A five-cylinder Audi 2.5 TFSI  engine performed traditionally good, having won in its “2.0-to-2.5-liter” category. It is interesting that this is the ninth victory in the row of the German motor.

Other winners are:

  • up to 1.0 l – three-cylinder Volkswagen motor;
  • 1.0-1.4 l – three-cylinder 1.2-liter PSA Group engine;
  • 1.4-1.8 liters – three-cylinder 1.5-liter BMW motor.

The best green engine is Tesla’ one.